The house and the ranch offer a romantic, charming weekend (or longer!) get-away only two hours from Austin or San Antonio.
Henry Hasse and his wife, Fredericka, emigrated from Germany and purchased this ranch in 1860. They built a log structure on the property and replaced it in 1883 with this stone farm house. The house is built in the style of German farm houses in the 1850s and is listed in the National Register of Historical Places because it one of the very few authentic German farm houses with their original structure intact.
The house has been completely modernized inside to make it comfortable. It has central heating and air, two bathrooms, a complete kitchen, satellite TV, and wifi.
The house is on Highway 29, two hours from Austin and San Antonio, and 6.9 miles east of Mason. It is 27 miles from Llano and 48 miles from Fredericksburg.
Guests at the house typically enjoy walking through the ranch on the two mile nature trail. The ranch holds a variety of wildlife, including deer, raccoons, migratory birds, and all the other native species of the Hill Country. The old field has a grove of native pecan trees. In the north end of the property (along Hasse Creek) is one of the few remaining groves of post oak trees in the county. The rest were cut down by early settlers to build the original log houses.
The town of Mason has a classic town square, centered around the county courthouse. The square continues today to be the 'hub' of the community for dining and shopping, a museum, movie theater and plenty of interesting characters! According to the Texas Monthly and the Dallas Morning news, this is the best preserved small town square in the state.
The fully equipped, modern kitchen allows guests to prepare meals in the house. The proximity to Mason allows driving easily into town for lunch or dinner. With regrets, guests are not permitted to bring pets.