Morning Sun on the back of the main houseThe Garden from the patio
The Garden Flat @templelands Dunbar
The Garden Flat @templelands Dunbar
4 hóspedes
2 quartos
3 camas
1 banheiro
4 hóspedes
2 quartos
3 camas
1 banheiro
Por favor, defina o número de adultos.
Adultos
1
Por favor, defina o número de crianças.
Crianças
Idade 2 - 12
0
Por favor, defina o número de bebês.
Bebês
Menor de 2
0
Máximo de 4 hóspedes. Bebês não devem ser incluídos no número total de hóspedes.
Você ainda não será cobrado

Small self-catering flat for Holiday Lets & short stays. Lower part of period Georgian townhouse, our home, once kitchens servants quarters. Town & country and public transport nearby. Min 5 nights from late spring to early autumn, and easter/xmas. Strictly no smoking.

O espaço

The self-catering Garden Flat at Templelands is available for Holiday Lets from £110 a night on a 5 days + 2 free basis (add £20/night during peak season/easter and other holidays) or other short stays. Contact us for a quote.

It is the lower 1/3 of a Georgian townhouse, once the kitchens and servants quarters. It now comprises a small cosy flat with 1 double bedroom and 1 twin room, and a galley kitchen + sitting / dining area, furnished mostly in a shabby chic style.

Sleeps max 4. The bathroom has a full sized bath and a powerful Mira shower - hot water on demand.

The flat has a private entrance, and access to the small quiet Templelands garden at the rear with pleasant outlook to sea, up some steps.

The kitchen is modern and well-equipped with hob, dishwasher and washer-drier, but we use the old-fashioned line for wonderfully sea-fresh clothes. The TV is tiny and has a DVD player, and you can enjoy our small collection of obscure films and a smattering of books (and borrow, if you promise to return).

Templelands is a 200+ year old property - a pair of townhouses, built in the late Georgian style, with thick and substantial walls and shutters. the elegant ashlar block frontage of the property gives way to the rustic rubble wall of the Garden Flat, and to the rear there is a contrasting red sandstone rubble wall.

Lots of charm and wonky features, reflecting its age and multiple past uses.

Watch the gannets fly by from the garden, take breakfast on the patio, which receives the sun from early morning and into the early evening. Perfect sunrises and moonrises straight from the sea, and sunsets a short walk away towards Belhaven.

The sea shore and the harbour are 5 mins walk or less. A number of eateries and pubs all within a short walk. No car required.

The coast is of international importance for birds and wildlife habitats, a stone's throw from St Abbs, special also for its marine life. Diving, sea fishing, great surfing, walking and increasingly cycling friendly (you can rent kit when you arrive). Also golf, but you probably knew that?

Shops include fishmonger, butcher, friendly fruit and veg shop with organic offerings, and other fair trade outlets PLUS an artisan baker cum French patisserie (outstanding quality - runners up as Britain's Best Bakery and a string of other Scottish and UK awards). In season, we may have cut and come again lettuce, artichoke, radicchio and cavolonero from our minuscule veg plot.

Railway station just a 3 minute walk away, with Edinburgh 18-25 mins travel time. Connections to villages by bus. Local bike hire. Co-wheels car club.

The flat and garden are suitable for non-smokers only.

Acesso dos hóspedes

The garden is available for quiet use, for it is formally laid out. There are different areas, including a more private patio at the end of the garden, with an area next to the house, in case you need to keep an eye on the small ones. Take care not to disturb the plants but do watch the wildlife at sea (in summer gannets fly by with spectacular diving for fish).

Interação com os hóspedes

We stay upstairs most of the year. We'll stay out of your way and be s quiet as we can. The cats may pretend to be more friendly than they actually are but you'll find us to be very friendly too, if you want interaction.

Anyone wanting to stay longer than week gets extra security questions. You may have high level government security clearance but it is unlikely we will know that, so don't be offended or shy if we're curious as to why you want to stay longer.

Outras observações

If you need anything at all please ask. Remember this is not a hotel, so don't take anything without asking. Please use energy as required, but not 24/7 - especially on warm days in spring, summer and autumn, to avoid surcharges. This is an old house so please do not expect hospital temperatures, but even at minus 10 you should be comfy, as guests from down under have testified to. Always come prepared for the weather, which is at once maritime, but often windy and therefore slightly colder and drier (phew!) than the west coast.


Comodidades

Preços
Desconto Semanal: 12%
Preço de Fim de Semana R$480 / noite
Sempre se comunique através do Airbnb
Para proteger seu pagamento, nunca transfira dinheiro ou se comunique fora do site ou aplicativo do Airbnb.
Saiba mais

Regras da Casa
Proibido fumar
Não permite animais de estimação
Não são permitidas festas ou eventos
O check-in é a qualquer momento depois das 16:00
Checkout às 10:00

No pets, no parties, no smoking, no candles, no night lights, no deep fat frying, slow cooking or similar - strictly please. Keep it as natural as you can. Use the shutters for soundproofing and dark, curtains for privacy and open the windows to give the flat a *daily* airing.

On departure you will leave the flat as tidy and clean as you found it, and please dispose of all your rubbish in the facilities. Recycle carefully, as we don't want to have to trawl through your dirty refuse. Alternatively take it to the recycling facilities on the High Street.

Some guests treat our wee flat like our home like a hotel and use all the towels for cleaning the floor, steal from the housekeepers cupboard, leave rubbish unemptied, piles of dirty nappies and the dishwasher full of unwashed crocks (it is there as a backup not to hide the washing up in guys!)

You can imagine what we say about these sorts of people - please don't be one of them.


Cancelamentos

Recursos de segurança
Detector de fumaça
Detector de monóxido de carbono
Cartão de segurança
Extintor de incêndio

Disponibilidade
Estadia mínima de 5 noites.

2 Comentários

Perfil do usuário de Nichola
Junho de 2016
The flat was lovely and Ruth and Philip made us feel very welcome. We were met on arrival and given a tour of the flat and (stunning) garden. As well as a fully kitted out flat (and very well kitted out kitchen) there was a gift of fresh fruit, home made marmalade and artisan bread - lovely touches! They were both very responsive to our needs and very friendly when we met them again on our last day. We enjoyed our trip and would happily stay there again, and recommend to our friends. In terms of Dunbar, it is a very nice coastal town, with some nice local beaches and parks - great for young kids. A bit quiet on Sundays with most shops closed but overall a relaxed atmosphere. The flat is really well situated with all amenities close by.

Perfil do usuário de Charlotte
Janeiro de 2016
A relaxing and pretty flat with everything we needed for a week away from it all. The weather was of course wet and windy but it was easy to get cosy with the old style shutters, throws etc. A lovely welcome with a bottle of wine, delicious cake and little added touches, including the lovely fragrance of real lavender through the flat. We had everything we needed to cook our Christmas Dinner, along with a number of other family meals. Dunbar is a little town with a few shops, mini supermarkets and pubs, and getting into Edinburgh was easy with the station just 5 minutes away. The beach was great for brisk walks and shaking away the cobwebs. Our hosts were attentive but not intrusive, living upstairs, it was possible for them to respond quickly when we got stuck with something. Highly recommended

Esse anfitrião tem 41 comentários de outras propriedades.

Ver outros comentários
Escócia, Reino UnidoCadastrou-se em Fevereiro 2013
Perfil do usuário de RuthRuth é um superhost.

I used to run the Scottish giftware startup "Couthie" and now let part of our house for holidaymakers and other visitors, along with my husband Philip, who is a consultant troubleshooter, factotum and my amanuensis. We like old things and the new with equal passion, if they are any good.

Idiomas: English, Italiano
Taxa de resposta: 100%
Tempo de resposta: em até uma hora

O bairro

Anúncios parecidos